Recipe: Gluten-free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a comment

March 30, 2014 by marieelia

A lot of gluten-free or paleo sites focus on snacks because, well, it’s easy to make meals that are gluten-free. Yes, you could just avoid traditional treats like cookies and pie, but sometimes, you just want a sweet. My partner sent me this recipe, which we tried and really liked. (I made it with Trader Joe’s Just Cashew Meal rather than almond meal, and I chopped up TJ’s 85% cacao dark chocolate.)

Original recipe: The Best Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever

Yesterday I made a few adjustments that made them not vegan and not paleo, but I liked them better. I like my cookies a little crunchy; these turned out slightly crispy at the outside and soft on the inside. So, with gratitude to Lauren from Oatmeal with a Fork, here is my version:

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 c. almond or cashew meal [I used Trader Joe’s Just Cashew Meal.]
  • ¼ t. sea salt [I used large crystals, which had the pleasant effect of making these slightly salty.]
  • ⅛ t. baking soda
  • ¼ t. cinnamon [optional]
  • 3 T. butter or coconut oil, melted
  • ½ t. apple cider vinegar [optional]
  • 1 large egg, beaten [with ACV, if using]
  • 2 T. coconut palm sugar, honey, or maple syrup [I used Trader Joe’s Organic Coconut Sugar.]
  • 1½ t. vanilla
  • 2-4 T. chopped dark chocolate [I used Endangered Species 88% cacao.]
  • ⅛ c. flaked coconut [I used Bob’s Red Mill unsweetened flaked coconut; I like the large flakes, but you could use small ones.]
  • ⅛ c. quinoa flakes [I used Ancient Harvest Quinoa Flakes; you could also use GF oats.]

 

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  • Mix the nut meal, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon.
  • In a separate bowl, beat the egg [with the vinegar, if using].
  • In a third small bowl, stir the vanilla into the melted butter. [I do this in the vessel I’ve warmed the butter in, such a small Pyrex bowl.]
  • Add butter/vanilla mixture to dry ingredients and mix.
  • Add egg and mix.
  • Stir in the chopped chocolate last.
  • Drop in 1-2 T. size drops onto a well oiled or parchment paper-lined cookie sheet. [My recipe made 8 medium-sized cookies.]
  • Bake for 10-11 minutes. [The edges should be golden.]
  • Let them sit on the pan for 5-10 minutes. Because they lack gluten to bind them, this cooling step is important for the cookies to firm up.
  • Remove and enjoy warm, or let them cool completely on a wire rack.
Leave a Reply

