“Recipe”: French Toast

Leave a comment

December 18, 2012 by marieelia

This isn’t really a recipe; it’s more a suggestion/recommendation. I’ve recommended Sami’s Bakery before, like their amazing lavash. But we’ve also tried their Millet & Flax buns (fantastic for veggie burgers) and, more recently, their Millet & Flax bread.

Sami's Millet & Flax Bread

Sami’s Millet & Flax Bread

It’s great for having a piece of toast with your eggs in the morning. I haven’t had it un-toasted yet, but when it comes to bread things, I mostly just miss toast. Which brings me to… French toast! (Or egg bread, or what have you.) I used two eggs whisked with unsweetened vanilla almond milk and cinnamon for four pieces of bread. We topped them with butter and local honey for a rare sugary treat.

I try to expand my ideas about what constitutes snacks and treats (who knew I would love rice-cake-almond-butter-apple sandwiches so much?) and not rely on gluten-free substitutions that aren’t much healthier. But I’ve found that incorporating some gluten-free breads allows for variety and, frankly, comfort. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

