Recipe: Gluten-Free No-Sugar-Added Granola

4

April 3, 2012 by marieelia

UPDATE!

I added 10-15 minutes baking time (from 25-30 to 35-40) because I found that the juice can slow the crisping when the mixture is baking. Just check on it when you hit the 35 minute mark, and go from there. (If you want something more like muesli, you can bake it for less time.)

* * * * * * * * *

Inspired by The G-Spot Revolution’s low-sugar gluten-free granola recipe and Hungry Hungry Hippie’s quinoa granola recipe, I give you my modified version: Gluten-Free No-Sugar-Added Granola.

There is sugar because of the apple juice and dried fruit, but there is no honey, agave, or maple syrup. Friends: Unfortunately, from a nutritional standpoint, there is no difference between these sweeteners and cane sugar (although all of them are better than artificial sweeteners, of course). Sometimes, sugar is a nice treat, as is honey or maple syrup. But I was looking for a granola that I could incorporate as a regular snack or breakfast component, and for that, I wanted it to be free of added sugars. I also wanted to incorporate other grains. Next time I’ll try less oats and add some millet, I think.

Okay, this is my recipe (printer-friendly version here):

2½ cups gluten-free old fashioned rolled oats
½ cup red quinoa & amaranth (probably 2 parts quinoa to 1 part amaranth)
⅓ cup almond butter, warmed
½ cup unsweetened apple juice
¼ cup coconut oil
¼ cup unsweetened shredded coconut
⅓ cup chopped nuts
⅓ cup chopped dried fruit
sprinkle of cinnamon
sprinkle of sea salt

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (or tin foil, if you’re parchment-less; just remove the granola before it cools completely or it’ll stick).
  • Warm the almond butter. (Takes almost no time: Less than a minute over a low flame. Seriously, watch it, or it will burn.)
  • In a bowl, combine the oats, almond butter, and apple juice. Stir until ingredients are well-combined.
  • Add the coconut oil and quinoa/amaranth mixture, and stir.
  • Add coconut flakes, dried fruit (I used prunes), and nuts (I used almonds & walnuts), and stir again.
  • Spread the mixture onto the baking sheet and sprinkle with cinnamon and sea salt.
  • Bake in oven for 35 – 40 minutes. Stir/toss the granola with a spatula halfway through the bake time.

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Gluten-Free No-Sugar-Added Granola

  1. mythineats says:

    I love to make my granola at home. I get to pick what I want in it and also it tastes so delicious and crunchy. I love to put almonds and walnuts, along with some pumpkin seeds my favorite nuts.

  2. elise says:

    i have a sweet tooth, so i may have to stevia it up a bit after but looks yummy 🙂

    • marieelia says:

      The good thing about starting with a simple base is that you can add and modify accordingly! Adding fresh fruit (mmm, raspberries) might be nice too, to up the sweetness factor. Thanks for reading!

  3. cskarasik says:

    Thanks for sharing this recipe — your granola looks so yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

